Resources  >  Sex Offender Matrix
State Sex Offender Matrix

The ICJ State Sex Offender Matrix listed below provides a brief overview of each state's registration requirements and timelines, public notification, risk assessment, residency, and electronic monitoring requirements regarding juvenile sex offenders.

For more detailed information pertaining to the Juvenile Sex Offender laws in each state, follow this link for the complete Juvenile Sex Offender Matrix.


State Registration DNA Test Public Notification Risk Assessment Residential Restriction Electronic Monitor Failure to Register Penalty
AK No Yes No No No No N/A
AL Yes; 3 days Yes Yes Yes Yes No Yes; Felony
AR Upon Court Order; within 3 days Yes Yes Yes Yes No Yes; Felony
AZ No; unless required to register in home state Yes Yes; Upon court order No No No No
CA Yes; 5 working days Yes No, unless convicted as adult Yes Yes Yes Yes; Felony
CO Yes; 5 days Yes; Upon court order Yes Yes Yes; Upon court order Yes; Felony
CT N/A N/A Upon court order Yes N/A N/A N/A
DC              
DE Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes; Felony
FL Yes; within 48 hours Yes; All felonies Yes Yes Yes; No Yes; Felony
GA No No No N/A N/A N/A N/A
HI No No N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
IA Yes; 5 business days Yes; for felony offenses Yes No Yes Yes Yes
ID Yes; 2 business days Yes Yes N/A N/A N/A Yes; Misdemeanor
IL Yes; 3 days Yes No Yes Yes Yes Yes; Felony
IN              
KS Yes; if the offense is rape or aggravated sodomy, must register within 10 days Yes Yes; public notification if rape or aggravated sodomy No No No Yes; Felony
KY No; Unless required to register in home state then they must register within 5 working days Yes Yes; School notification No No No Yes; Felony
LA Yes; 3 business days Yes No Yes Yes Only in secure facilities Yes; Felony
MA Yes; within 2 days No Yes Yes No No Yes
MD              
ME No Only for juveniles adjudicated in Maine Only for juveniles adjudicated in Maine Yes N/A By court order only N/A
MI Yes; Must register within 48 hrs upon arrival            
MN Yes; must register 5 days prior to arrival Yes; felony offenses No No No Not required but is available Yes; Felony
MO Yes; 10 days N/A No No Yes No Yes; Misdemeanor
MS Yes; Required within 10 days N/A Yes Yes     Yes; Revocation of Parole/Probation
MT Yes; 3 business days Yes Upon court order Yes Yes No N/A
NC No No No Yes No No No
ND Yes; 3 days Yes Yes Yes N/A No Yes; Felony
NE No; Unless required to register in sending state, then must register on adult registry If placed on adult registry If placed on adult registry No If placed on adult registry No If placed on adult registry
NH Court ordered; within 5 business days No No No No No Misdemeanor
NJ Yes Yes Yes Yes No Yes; Case specific Yes; 3rd Degree Felony
NM No No No No No No N/A
NV No N/A Varies; see more information Yes No No N/A
NY N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
OH Yes Yes Varies, see more information Yes; court ordered Yes Yes; if court ordered Varies; see more information
OK Yes; 3 days N/A No Yes Yes Yes; Upon court order Yes
OR Yes; 10 days Yes; felony sex crimes only Yes; School only No Yes N/A Yes; Misdemeanor
PA Yes Yes No No No No Yes
RI              
SC Yes; 10 days Yes Yes No Yes Yes; Upon court order Yes; Graduated
SD Yes; 3 days Yes Yes No Yes No Yes; Felony
TN Yes; 48 hrs Yes Yes; School only Yes N/A Upon court order N/A
TX Yes; 7 days Yes Yes; School only Yes No Upon court order Yes; Felony
UT Yes; 10 days Yes Yes Yes No No Yes; Graduated
VA Yes; 10 days Yes Yes; School only No No No Yes; Graduated
VI No; unless required to register in the home state. No No Yes No No Yes
VT No No Yes; School only Yes No No No
WA Yes; 3 business days Yes Yes Yes Yes Upon court order Yes; Felony
WI Yes; 10 days Yes No No Yes No Yes; Felony
WV N/A No No No No Upon court order N/A
WY Yes; 3 business days Yes Yes No Yes No Yes; Felony