# INTERSTATE COMMISSION FOR JUVENILES

South Region Meeting Minutes

March 16, 2023 11:00 a.m. ET Via Zoom



# **Commissioners/Designees in Attendance:**

- 1. Felicia Dauway (SC), Designee, Region Representative
- 2. Jean Hall (FL), Commissioner, Alternate Region Representative
- 3. Judy Miller (AR), Designee
- 4. Amy Welch (KY), Commissioner
- 5. Tracy Cassell (GA), Designee
- 6. Amy Welch (KY), Commissioner
- 7. Angela Bridgewater (LA), Commissioner
- 8. Sherry Jones (MD), Commissioner
- 9. Maxine Baggett (MS), Designee
- 10. Julie Hawkins (MO), Commissioner
- 11. Stephen Horton (NC), Commissioner
- 12. Robert Hendryx (OK), Designee
- 13. Louis Serrano (TX), Commissioner
- 14. Natalie Dalton (VA), Commissioner
- 15. Lynn Fielder (WV), Designee

## **Commissioners/Designees Not in Attendance:**

- 1. Patrick Pendergast (AL), Designee
- 2. Jefferson Regis (DC), Commissioner
- 3. Corrie Copeland (TN), Commissioner

# Non-voting Compact Staff in Attendance:

- 1. Latosha Mallory (AL)
- 2. Terrance Clayton (FL)
- 3. Tacarra Richardson (FL)
- 4. Ryan Smith (FL)
- 5. Shawanda Reynolds-Cobb (GA)
- 6. Shanice Rhyne (GA)
- 7. Sherri Springate (KY)
- 8. Benjamin Turner (KY)
- 9. Yolanda Latimer (LA)
- 10. Stephen Jenkins (LA)
- 11. Abbye Tyler (MD)
- 12. Latoya Oliver (MD)
- 13. Rachel Johnson (NC)
- 14. Mason Harrington (SC)
- 15. Bridget Webb (SC)
- 16. Quincy Hughes (TN)
- 17. Daryl Liedecke (TX)

## Guests in Attendance:

- 1. Rachelle Richards (MS)
- 2. Tamara C. Bonds (TN)

## National Office Staff in Attendance:

- 1. MaryLee Underwood, Executive Director
- 2. Emma Goode, Logistics and Administrative Specialist
- 3. Amanee Cabbagestalk, Training and Administrative Specialist
- 4. Jenny Adkins, Operations and Policy Specialist
- 5. Joe Johnson, System Project Manager

#### **Call to Order**

Representative Dauway (SC) called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. ET.

## Roll Call

Director Underwood called the roll and a quorum was established.

#### Agenda

J. Hall (FL) made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. S. Jones (MD) seconded. The motion carried.

## Minutes

J. Miller (AR) made a motion to approve the January 18, 2023 meeting minutes. A. Welch (KY) seconded. The motion carried.

## Discussion

## Proposed Amendment to Rule 7-107: Airport Supervision by the South Region

- Representative Dauway (SC) presented the South Region's proposed amendment to Rule 7-107: Airport Supervision and updated that the Rules Committee did not recommend the South Region's rule proposal for adoption as submitted.
- However, the Rules Committee provided suggested modifications for consideration to Rule 7-107 (3) noted below.
  - Remove the proposed phrase "unless an emergency occurs."
  - Add at the end of the paragraph a new sentence: "Exceptions may be approved by the intermediate airport state."
- J. Miller (AR) requested an explanation of the suggested modification. S. Horton (NC) and J. Hawkins (MO) provided highlights of the discussion from the Rules Committee's meeting which led to the recommendation.
- D. Liedecke (TX) noted that the original proposed term "emergency" could cause differences of opinions on what constitutes an emergency.
- S. Horton (NC) concurred adding that the Rules Committee discussed the term "emergency" and noted it was not possible to list all potential emergency situations which ultimately creates unintentional omissions.
- N. Dalton (VA) made a motion to accept the suggestions from the Rules Committee and modify the proposed amendment to Rule 7-107: Airport Supervision by the South Region. S. Horton (NC) seconded. The motion passed.

## **Old Business**

There was no old business.

## **New Business**

- A. Cabbagestalk reminded members about the upcoming Wednesday Workshop training session on March 29, 2023. Anyone interested can join via the Zoom link located on the Commission's calendar.
- S. Jones (MD) urged members to consider running for officer positions during the Annual Business Meeting this fall.

## Adjourn

Representative Dauway adjourned the meeting by acclamation without objection at 11:19 p.m. ET.