INTERSTATE COMMISSION FOR JUVENILES

Information Technology Committee Meeting *Minutes* June 18, 2019 2:00 p.m. ET



- 1. Tony De Jesus (CA), Chair
- 2. Nate Lawson (OH), Vice Chair
- 3. Judy Miller (AR), Designee
- 4. Anne Connor (ID), Designee
- 5. Maxine Baggett (MS), Designee
- 6. Natalie Dalton (VA), Commissioner

Voting Members Not in Attendance:

- 1. Summer Foxworth (CO), Commissioner
- 2. Sherry Jones (MD), Commissioner
- 3. Jacey Rader (NE), Commissioner

Non-Voting Members in Attendance:

- 1. Holly Kassube (IL)
- 2. Nita Wright (IN)
- 3. Rachel Johnson (NC)
- 4. Abbie Christian (NE)
- 5. Candice Alfonso (NJ)
- 6. Gladys Olivares (NV)
- 7. David Hensley (TX)
- 8. Raymundo Gallardo (UT)
- 9. Brandon Schimelpfenig (WY)

Staff in Attendance:

- 1. MaryLee Underwood, Executive Director
- 2. Jennifer Adkins, Operations and Policy Specialist
- 3. Leslie Anderson, Logistics and Administrative Coordinator

Call to Order

Chair T. De Jesus (CA) called the meeting to order at 2:00 p.m. ET.

Roll Call

Director Underwood called the roll and a quorum was established.

<u>Agenda</u>

A. Connor (ID) made a motion to approve the agenda. M. Baggett (MS) seconded. The motion carried.



<u>Minutes</u>

A. Connor (ID) made a motion to approve the May 21, 2019 meeting minutes. J. Miller (AR) seconded. The motion carried.

Discussion

RFP Team Update

- Chair T. De Jesus (CA) reported that the RFP Team met on June 11-12, 2019 in Arlington, VA to score the six (6) viable vendor proposals with the amended scoring criteria developed with the reissuance of the second RFP. The team performed consensus scoring and two (2) vendors were selected to provide demonstrations. A third vendor remains in consideration, but the team elected not to request a demonstration due to information provided in earlier demonstrations. The floor was opened for discussion.
- The team members discussed the assessment requirements and level of detail utilized in this scoring process. Vendors still under consideration demonstrated very detailed understanding of the Commission's needs. Both vendors asked to provide demonstrations currently provide software to other criminal justice agencies and are familiar with the field of work.
- Executive Director Underwood reported that demonstration sessions have been scheduled for July 15-16, 2019 and that the RFP Team will reconvene on July 17, 2019 to prepare a recommendation to present to the Technology Committee at their next meeting. If the recommendation is approved, it will be presented to the Executive Committee at their July 25, 2019 meeting.

FBI Collaboration Survey

- Chair T. De Jesus opened the floor for discussion from the committee on the draft survey that reflected amendments made after suggestions at the last meeting. Language was included to better clarify specific questions to garner more informative data and address issues regarding circumstances where the eligibility of a juvenile is unknown at the time of entry.
- Committee members made further suggestions and amendments to the survey, including numerically reordering the questions and amending the opening paragraph to better reflect the purpose of the survey as a collaborative effort with the FBI to gather baseline data on ICJ related processes regarding NCIC nationwide.
- H. Kassube (IL) suggested having a Technology Committee member from each region familiar with the NCIC process to assist with any questions other commission members may have regarding the survey questions. The following committee members volunteered to assist their Region Representatives for the following regions; C. Alfonso (NJ) for the East Region, H. Kassube (IL) for the Midwest Region, T. De Jesus (CA) for the West Region, J. Miller (AR) for the South Region and L. Anderson from the national office.
- A. Connor (ID) made a motion to recommend the amended FBI Collaboration Survey to the Executive Committee for review and approval. N. Dalton (VA) seconded. The motion carried.

Old Business

• No Old Business to report.

New Business

No New Business to report.

<u>Adjourn</u>

Chair T. De Jesus (CA) adjourned the meeting by acclimation at 3:13 p.m. ET.