Midwest Region

Regional Representative

Charles Frieberg

Commissioner, South Dakota

Charles Frieberg started his career in the criminal justice system in September of 1993 as a probation officer. His first duty station was in Lake Andes where he stayed for two years before he was assigned to the office in Yankton, South Dakota. In his capacity as a probation officer he supervised both an adult and juvenile caseload. In 2010 Charles was appointed the Chief Court Services Officer for the First Judicial Circuit of South Dakota. He was implemental in bringing a Drug Court to two areas in his jurisdiction. He supervised a staff of 25 people which covered 14 counties in the southeastern portion of South Dakota. In 2016 Charles was appointed the Director of Court Services and is now living in Pierre, SD. He earned his BA in Criminal Justice from the University of South Dakota, graduating in 1993. He has raised six children who are all grown and are living in South Dakota and Colorado. He enjoys being with his family, golfing and reading.

Alternate Regional Representative

Mary Kay Hudson

Commissioner/Compact Administrator, Indiana


Tomiko Frierson

UNITY Coordinator, Illinois

  • Commissioner
  • Parole Only
  • Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice
  • Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice
  • 1010 Dixie Highway, Suite 100
    Chicago Heights, Illinois 60411

Mary Kay Hudson

Compact Administrator/Alternate Regional Representative, Indiana

  • Commissioner / Compact Administrator
  • Parole & Probation
  • Indiana Office of Court Services
  • 251 North Illinois Street, Suite 800
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Michael Rempe

Commissioner, Iowa

  • Commissioner
  • Parole & Probation
  • Juvenile Court Services
  • 513 North Main Street
    Burlington, Iowa 52601

Hope Cooper

Commissioner, Kansas

  • Commissioner
  • Parole & Probation
  • Kansas Department of Corrections – Juvenile Services
  • Kansas Department of Corrections – Juvenile Services
  • 714 SW Jackson, Ste. 300
    Topeka, Kansas 66603

Roy Yaple

UNITY Coordinator, Michigan

  • Commissioner
  • Parole & Probation
  • Michigan ICJ Office
  • Michigan Dept. of Health and Human Services – Juvenile Justice Programs
  • P.O. Box 30037
    Lansing, Michigan 48909

Tracy Hudrlik

Compact Office/Deputy Compact Administrator, Minnesota

  • Commissioner
  • Parole & Probation
  • Minnesota Department of Corrections
  • 1450 Energy Park Drive, Suite 200
    St. Paul, Minnesota 55108-5219

Jacey R. Rader

Commission Immediate Past Chair, Nebraska

  • Commissioner
  • Probation Only
  • NE Interstate Compact - Probation
  • P.O. Box 98910
    Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8910

Lisa Bjergaard

Commissioner, North Dakota

  • Commissioner
  • Parole & Probation
  • Division of Juvenile Services
  • 701 16th Ave. SW
    Mandan, North Dakota 58554

Nate Lawson

UNITY Coordinator, Ohio

  • Commissioner
  • Parole & Probation
  • Ohio Department of Youth Services
  • One Government Center, Suite 1016
    Toledo, Ohio 43604

Charles Frieberg

Regional Representative, South Dakota

  • Commissioner
  • Parole & Probation
  • Court Services
  • 500 East Capitol Avenue
    Pierre, South Dakota 57501-5070

Casey Gerber

Commissioner, Wisconsin

  • Commissioner
  • Parole & Probation
  • Division of Juvenile Corrections
  • Department of Corrections
  • 3099 East Washington Street; P.O. Box 8930
    Madison, Wisconsin 53708-8930