Rules Committee

The Rules Committee provides oversight and guidance regarding proposed rule amendments throughout the ICJ rule-making process.  The Rules Committee is responsible for administering the Commission’s rule-making process, drafting proposed rule amendments and considering proposed rule amendments from other committees and regions.  The Rules Committee ensures the rule amendments are properly formatted and include adequate justifications. 

Membership is limited to 2-3 members from each of the four regions.  The members update their respective region on the activities of the committee at the regional meetings.   In odd numbered years (such as 2023), members meet face-to-face to review comments and finalize recommendations. Members also participate in the presentation at the Annual Business Meeting.  This is the only committee that operates on a 2-year cycle. 

Meeting Dates:

  • December 1, 2021, 2pm ET
  • February 2, 2022, 2pm ET
  • April 6, 2022, 2pm ET
  • June 1, 2022, 2pm ET
  • August 10, 2022 2 pm ET

Chair

Stephen Horton

Commissioner, Rules Committee Chair, North Carolina

Biography

Stephen Horton is the Commissioner for North Carolina and the Deputy Compact Administrator for the North Carolina ICJ office with the NC Department of Public Safety; Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice. He has served as DCA since 2014. He has over ten years of service with the North Carolina ICJ office. He obtained his bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Appalachian State University in 1996. He began his career with North Carolina State government over twenty years ago and has worked as a Court Counselor, Court Counselor Supervisor, and as a Staff Development Specialist. Stephen is an (adjunct) General Instructor for North Carolina and holds Specialized Instructor certifications in Restraint, Control, and Defensive Tactics (self-defense), Wellness and Fitness, and First Aid/ CPR. He has also served on  a number of different ICJ committees within the Commission and is a current member to the Rules Committee.

Vice Chair

Caitlyn Bickford

Commissioner, Deputy Compact Administrator, UNITY Coordinator, New Hampshire

Roster

First Name Last Name Commission Title Office Email User Profile
Dawn Bailey Dawn Bailey Designee/Compact Administrator Washington wa-icj@dcyf.wa.gov User Profile
Michael Farmer Michael Farmer Designee / Deputy Compact Administrator California michael.farmer@cdcr.ca.gov User Profile
Raymundo Gallardo Raymundo Gallardo Deputy Compact Administrator/Designee Utah icjutah@utcourts.gov User Profile
Julie Hawkins Julie Hawkins Commissioner / Deputy Compact Administrator Missouri julie.hawkins@dss.mo.gov User Profile
Tracy Hudrlik Tracy Hudrlik Commissioner Minnesota tracy.hudrlik@state.mn.us User Profile
Mary Kay Hudson Commissioner / Compact Administrator Indiana MK.Hudson@courts.in.gov User Profile
Jennifer LeBaron Jennifer LeBaron Commissioner / Compact Administrator New Jersey jennifer.lebaron@jjc.nj.gov User Profile
Edwin Lee Jr Edwin Lee Jr Designee New Jersey edwin.lee@jjc.nj.gov User Profile
Judy Miller Judy Miller Designee/Deputy Compact Administrator Arkansas judy.miller@dhs.arkansas.gov User Profile
Kelly Palmateer Kelly Palmateer Deputy Compact Administrator New York kelly.palmateer@dcjs.ny.gov User Profile
Michael Tymkew Commissioner Michigan Tymkewm@michigan.gov User Profile
Nita Wright Deputy Compact Administrator / Sex Offenders, Runaways Indiana Nita.Wright@courts.in.gov User Profile