State Sex Offender Matrix

The ICJ State Sex Offender Matrix listed below provides a brief overview of each state's registration requirements and timelines, public notification, risk assessment, residency, and electronic monitoring requirements regarding juvenile sex offenders.

For more detailed information pertaining to the Juvenile Sex Offender laws in each state, follow this link for the complete Juvenile Sex Offender Matrix. Updated 4/10/2020

 

State State Registration DNA Test Public Notification Risk Assessment Residential Restriction Electronic Monitor Failure to Register Penalty
AK No Yes No No No No N/A
AL Yes: 3 days, or for travel permits, an aggregate of 10 days per month Yes Yes Yes Yes No Yes: Felony
AR Upon Court Order: within 3 days Yes Yes Yes Yes No Yes: Felony
AZ No: unless required to register in home state Yes Yes: Upon court order No No No No
CA Yes: 5 working days Yes No: unless convicted as adult Yes Yes Yes Yes: Felony
CO Yes: 5 working days Yes: Upon court order Yes Yes Yes Upon court order Yes: Felony
CT N/A N/A Upon court order Yes N/A N/A N/A
DC - - - - - - -
DE Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes: Felony
FL Yes: Within 48 hours Yes: All felonies Yes Yes Yes No Yes: Felony
GA No: unless required to register in home state, then within 72 hours No No N/A N/A N/A Yes: Felony
HI Yes, if 18 or older and in HI for more than 10 days, or for an aggregate period exceeding 30 days. No N/A N/A Yes N/A Yes: Felony
IA Yes; 5 business days Yes; for felony offenses Yes Yes No Yes Yes
ID Yes; 2 business days Yes Yes N/A N/A N/A Yes: Misdemeanor
IL Yes; 3 business days Yes No Yes Yes Yes Yes: Felony
IN Upon court order N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
KS Yes; if the offense is rape or aggravated sodomy, must register within 10 days Yes Yes: public notification if rape or aggravated sodomy No No No Yes: Felony
KY No No No No No No No
LA Yes; 3 calendar days Yes No Yes Yes Only in secure facilities Yes
MA Yes; within 2 days No Yes Yes No No Yes
MD Yes; Confidential, Non Public No No No No No No
ME No Only for juveniles adjudicated in Maine Only for juveniles adjudicated in Maine Yes N/A By court order only N/A
MI See MI State Police Website - https://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,4643,7-123-1878_24961---,00.html OR call 517-241-1806 DNA profile sampling applies for certain adjudications or convictions in Michigan. See MCL 28.176(1)(a), 803.225a, and 803.307a. See also Michigan Administrative Code R28.5051-28.5059. In Michigan, juvenile offenders do not appear on the Public Sex Offender Registry. Y; A risk assessment for sex offenders is required as part of an ICJ referral for transfer of parole/probation supervision of a juvenile sex offender. See the Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL) for the Sex Offenders Registration Act, MCL 28.721 et seq. There is no electronic monitoring on ICJ juveniles coming to Michigan from other states, unless the juvenile offends in Michigan, a Michigan court takes jurisdiction and directs electronic monitoring by court order. See Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL) for the Sex Offenders Registration Act at MCL 28.729.
MN Yes; must register 5 days prior to arrival Yes: for felony offenses No No No Not required but is available Yes: Felony
MO Yes; 10 days N/A No No Yes No Yes: Misdemeanor
MS Yes; Required within 10 days N/A Yes Yes Yes; Revocation of Parole/Probation
MT Yes; 3 business days Yes Upon court order Yes Yes No N/A
NC No No No Yes No No No
ND Yes; 3 days Yes Yes Yes N/A No Yes: Felony
NE No: Unless required to register in Sending State; within 3 business days. Yes Yes No Based on City or Village Ordinance No Yes - Felony
NH Court ordered; within 5 business days No No No No No Misdemeanor
NJ Yes Yes Yes Yes No Yes; Case specific Yes; 3rd Degree Felony
NM No No No No No No N/A
NV Yes; within 2 days if 14 and over Yes Yes No No No Yes
NY N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
OH Yes Yes Varies, see more information Yes: Upon court order Yes Yes: If court order Varies; see more information
OK Yes; 3 days N/A No Yes Yes Yes; Upon court order Yes
OR Yes; 10 days Yes; felony sex crimes only Yes; School only No Yes N/A Yes: Misdemeanor
PA No Yes No No No No No
RI Yes, within 24 hrs No Yes, upon classification N/A Yes Yes, RI adjudicated offenders only with court order Yes, felony
SC Yes; 10 days Yes Yes No Yes Yes; Upon court order Yes; Graduated
SD Yes; 3 days Yes Yes No Yes No Yes; Felony
TN Yes; 48 hrs Yes Yes; School only Yes N/A Upon court order N/A
TX Yes; 7 days Yes Yes: School only Yes N/A Upon court order Yes: Felony
UT Yes; 10 days Yes Yes Yes No No Yes; Graduated
VA Yes; 10 days Yes Yes: School only No No No Yes; Graduated
VI No; unless required to register in the home state. No No Yes No No Yes
VT No No Yes: School only Yes No No No
WA Yes; 3 business days for juveniles relocating to WA and for sex offenders visiting for 10 business days or more. Yes; see the complete Juvenile Sex Offender Matrix Yes Yes Yes Upon court order Yes: Felony
WI Yes; 10 days Yes No No Yes No Yes: Felony
WV N/A No No No No Upon court order N/A
WY Yes; 3 business days Yes Yes No Yes No Yes: Felony